Dictionaries
OED Online
Oxford English Dictionary Online Unrestricted Resource
The OED online contains more than 600,000 meanings of words using more than 3 million quotations to show how words have been used over the entire history of the English language.
IPA Transcriptions
IPA Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Indexes

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
This database is a comprehensive guide to publications in music from all over the world. It covers articles, books, catalogues, dissertations and other publications from the 1830s to the present.

Music-In-Print Restricted Resource
An index for finding purchasing information (publisher contact, edition number, etc) of a known score or conducting a survey of the literature looking to discover unfamiliar works.

Worldcat Unrestricted Resource
A network of library content and services.  Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Journals
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database of major scholarly journals in various disciplines.  The full-text of the articles is searchable and viewable.
Images
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.  It contains contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Connecting from off-campus
To access many of Curtis's electronic resources from off campus, you will be required to enter your Curtis email username and password. After clicking the link to an electronic resource, you will be directed to a login page.  The username is your first name.last name or the part of your email address before the @.  The library's electronic resources are available only to current students, staff, and faculty of the Curtis Institute.
Streaming Audio
American Song Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
An eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

Classical Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A multi-label database of Classical music recordings.  Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Contemporary World Music Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Streaming audio access to important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.  It includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat. Users can trace the history of a people's music by comparing the traditional styles with the modern interpretations offered in this database.  Liner notes to all the albums are included.

Database of Recorded American Music Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A scholarly resource for recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays.  It contains a diverse catalogue of American music from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond.

Jazz Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A comprehensive collection of recordings covering thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.


Music Online: Premium Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Search across all Alexander Street Press music collections at once including African American Music Reference, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Opera in Video.

Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Streaming access to the largest online classical music collection.  Standard and rare repertoire is included as well as some jazz and world music recordings.


Smithsonian Global Sound Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A comprehensive streaming audio collection of world music.  It currently provides streaming access to over 42,000 tracks from the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added. 
Streaming Video
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access Restricted Resource
Online streaming access to hundreds of Met performances.





Classical Music in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Dance in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.

Opera in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century.
Scores and Sheet Music
Classical Scores Library I & II Restricted Resource
Classical music scores both in-copyright and public domain editions.  Volume I includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century.  Volume II focuses on major composers not represented in the first collection; new contemporary self published scores by major living composers around the world; and critical editions of compositions that are lesser known but often studied. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.

IMSLP (free public domain music) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
The International Music Score Library Project contains free public domain music including full scores and parts and recordings.
Encyclopedias
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource
The full text of Grove Music Online (including Grove Dictionary of American Music and Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments as well as the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music).

African American Music Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Classical Music Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to essential reference materials spanning the entire history of Western classical music of all classical genres from the Medieval period to the 21st century.  It includes definitions of musical terms, biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, and critical texts, as well as the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ten volumes, each focusing on a different geographical region.  Every volume contains an overview, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
Curtis Institute of Music Home | Intranet | Curtis Digital Showcase